26.08.2015

Portrait Moritz Rossner

Prof. Dr. Moritz Rossner

Molecular Neurobiology
LMU München, Nußbaumstr. 7
D-80366 Munich
Fon: +49 89 - 4400-55891
Fax: +49 89 - 4400-55779 E-Mail: Mail an Rossner

Portrait Oliver Schlüter

Dr. Dr. Oliver Schlüter

Molecular Neurobiology
ENI Göttingen, Grisebachstr. 5
D-37077 Göttingen
Fon: +49 551 - 39-10374
Fax: +49 551 - 39-12346
E-Mail: Mail an Schlueter



Molecular and neuronal pathway-specific analysis of pathognomonic signatures in two-hit schizophrenia mouse models combining environmental and genetic risk factors

Increasing evidence suggest that disturbed functional connectivity across brain regions is implicated in the etiology of psychotic diseases, including schizophrenia and bipolar disorders. Cognitive symptoms are a common hallmark of this heterogeneous group of diseases. The underlying mechanisms, however, remain still largely elusive. Human imaging data and studies in animal models suggest that impaired interactions of the ventral Hippocampus (vHi) and the medial prefrontal Cortex (mPFC) could be associated with cognitive deficits in schizophrenia.

Thus, we now want to apply optophysiology on brain slices of neuron-type reporter mice in combination with molecular profiling techniques to characterize pathway-specific mechanisms underlying vHi-mPFC interactions. Therefore, we will make use of a well characterized mouse model for the schizophrenia risk gene TCF4 named Tcf4tg crossed with fluorescent reporter mice for endocannabinoid receptor-positive interneurons and parvalbumin-positive interneurons, in which cell-type specific optophysiological recordings and molecular profiling can be performed.

We could previously show that Tcf4tg mice display several behavioral endophenotypes of Sz, including Hi dependent cognitive deficits and sensori-motor gating. In particular, cognitive deficits depending on the mPFC are amplified when Tcf4tg mice are subjected to psychosocial stress modeling gene x environment (GxE) interactions of schizophrenia. If successful, we will identify the cellular and molecular substrates underlying disturbed vHi-mPFC connectivity in the Tcf4tg GxE model which would pave the way for follow-up studies in other models in the future.

22.01.2015

Portrait Moritz Rossner

Prof. Dr. Moritz Rossner

WG Molecular Neurobiology
LMU München, Nußbaumstr. 7
D-80366 München
Fon: +49 89 - 4400-55891
Fax: +49 89 - 4400-55779 E-Mail: Mail an Rossner

Portrait Oliver Schlüter

Dr. Dr. Oliver Schlüter

Molecula Biology Lab
ENI Göttingen, Grisebachstr. 5
D-37077 Göttingen
Fon: +49 551 - 39-10374
Fax: +49 551 - 39-12346
E-Mail: Mail an Schlueter



Molekulare und Neuron Pathway-spezifische Analyse von pathognomonischen Markern in two-hit Schizophrenie Mausmodellen unter Verküpfung von umweltbedingten und genetischen Risiko Faktoren

Zahlreiche Beobachtungen weisen darauf hin, dass die funktionale Konnektivität zwischen Gehirnregion an der Entstehung psychotischer Erkrankungen, wie z.B. der Schizophrenie und bei Bipolaren Störungen, beteiligt sein könnte. Kognitive Symptome sind ein gemeinsames Kennzeichen dieser heterogenen Gruppe von Erkrankungen. Die ursächlichen Mechanismen sind jedoch weitgehend unbekannt. Humane Bildgebung und Studien in Tiermodellen lassen darauf schließen, dass gestörte Interaktionen des ventralen Hippokampus (vHi) und des medialen präfrontalen Kortex (mPFC) mit den kognitiven Veränderungen in der Schizophrenie assoziiert werden können.

Die Verknüpfung der Gehirnschnitte Neuron-spezifischer Reporter Mäuse mit molekularen Profilierungs-techniken mittels Optophysiologie soll hier nun die Pathway-spezifischen Mechanismen gestörter vHi-mPFC Interaktionen identifizieren. Basis hierfür ist ein gut charakterisiertes Mausmodell des Schizophrenie-Risikogens TCF4, sogenannte Tcf4tg Mäuse, die mit Reporterlinien für fluoreszente Endocannabinoid-Rezeptor- und Parvalbumin-positiven Interneuronen verpaart werden, um Zelltyp-spezifische Optophysiologie und molekulare Profilierungen durchzuführen.

Eigene Studien zeigten bereits, dass Tcf4tg Mäuse Schizophrenie-ähnliche und vom Hippokampus abhängige Verhaltensstörungen und kognitive Defizite aufweisen. Insbesondere die kognitiven Störungen, welche vom mPFC abhängig sind, werden in Tcf4tg Tieren durch psychosozialen Stress verstärkt was Gen x Umweltinteraktionen (GxE) in der SZ ähnelt. Im Erfolgsfall gilt es, zelluläre und molekulare Substrate gestörter vHi-mPFC Konnektivität im Tcf4tg GxE Model zu identifizieren und die Grundlage für zukünftige Untersuchungen weiterer Risikogene zu schaffen.